The Flower Symphony

Opus: 338 Year: 1964 
Children's Choir, Woodwind Orchestra, Plucked Instruments Orchestra
30:00 min

Prelude – Chavatzelet Hasharon – Hatzabar – Rakefet – Chamtitz – Zer Prachim

Recording: Not yet available

Publisher: The Marc Lavry Heritage Society

Lavry composed the Flower Symphony for the opening of the 1964 Annual International Flower Exhibition that was held in Haifa. The composition was written for the Haifa Children’s Choir and two local youth orchestras: the Haifa Woodwind Orchestra and the Haifa Plucked Instruments Orchestra.

The six movements describe indigenous flowers that were included in the exhibition:

  • Prelude
  • Chavatzelet Hasharon – Rose of the Sharon (region)
  • Hatzabar – Prickly Pear
  • Rakefet – Primrose
  • Chamtitz – Oxalis
  • Zer Prachim – Bouquet of Flowers