Menachem Mendel The Dreamer, Suite

Opus: 103/105 Year: 1939 
Symphonic Orchestra: 1/pic,1,2,asx,1–2,2,1,1–hp,accordion-timp+2-str
15:34 min

Marc Lavry, Conductor
Kol Israel Symphony Orchestra (The Broadcasting Service Orchestra)

Overture – Dance – The Train – Theme and Variation – Polka

Note: Lavry wrote two versions of this composition.
In 1939 he wrote Menachem Mendel The Dreamer, Opus 103, for a theatrical play by the same name. The total duration of that version is 55:00 minutes.
The following year, in 1940, he adapted the composition as a suite for symphonic orchestra, Opus 105, with a total duration of 15:34 minutes.

Manuscripts: Located at the National Library of Israel Music Department, the Marc Lavry Archive, System Number(s) 990036495200205171, 990036495240205171

Marc Lavry composed the music for Shalom Aleichem’s play that was premiered by the Ohel Theatre on October 25, 1939.
In 1940 he composed a Suite for Orchestra based on the music he originally wrote for the play.

  • Overture – Business as Usual
  • Dance – Oy, Parnassa (O, Livelihood)
  • The Train – Express in B Minor
  • Theme and Variations:
    The Matchmaker
    The Merrymaker
  • Polka – Menachem Mendel never gives up!